Tags

,

As I said last December, I decided to do a happiness project, which entails that I do something unusual, strange or, outright silly every month that I would normally not do. For the months of August and September, I decided to visit unusual places that I normally would not do. The followings are the highlights.

First, I visited a new age store. I saw some interesting items that I do not see every day. I saw tarot cards, runes, crystal balls, North American aboriginal healing kits, herbs, weird-looking statues. I took my time in the store. I actually read the instructions on the back of the boxes to learn about them. I also browsed through the books. I saw great value in reading books about natural healing techniques. The books on herbal medication was fascinating. I think it was worth the trip. My only objection was to the music in the store. They played nature themed music with waterfall in the background and it made me want to go to the bathroom after a while!

I visited a knitting group. My grandmother knew how to knit really well. She made me sweaters when I was a kid. So, I walked down on memory lane watching the older ladies knitting. I know how to knit simple scarves, but nothing fancy. I learned a few tricks. I decided to relearn and practice this ancient art. I have some needles and yarn now. I started with the simple scarf again. Once I get into it, I will use the tricks I have learned.

I went to the library for a colouring session that was held for kids. The librarian assumed that I had a child with me and offered me a colouring book and pencils. I sat with the kids and pretended that I was there with a little boy. We coloured giraffes, owls, cats and dogs. I had fun! I felt like a kid again.

I went to do nature photography with my husband. I took pictures of trees, flowers, birds, the sky before dusk and the moon at evening time. I have hundreds of pictures now. I am very proud of the bird pictures and the moon pictures. They turned out fabulous! I don’t remember the last time, I took pictures in the park. Usually, I am so busy that I do not even have time to notice the flowers.   This adventure taught me a lesson about the importance of looking for the little things in life. I think, we all need to slow down and pay attention to the small beautiful things before life whizzes by.

Overall, I learned that being open minded and adventurous is important. We all need to get out a little more and enjoy life! Trying new things, no matter how weird or out of the comfort zone they are, are important. I strongly advise everyone to try something different sometimes. It is worth it!

Bird

M. J. Mandoki

