As I said in December, I decided to do a happiness project, which entails that I do something unusual, strange or, outright silly every month that I would normally not do. For the month of February, I elected to play Cards Against Humanity with a group of friends. For privacy reason, I will only mention them by first name, if I have to.

The six of us gathered at Arron’s house on a Saturday. The large box of cards sat on the table while Emily explained the rules of the game. Each person gets ten answer cards and takes turn to pull a question card from top of the pile. The person who reads the question does not participate in answering it. The remainders of the players choose an answer to the question out of the ten cards they are holding. The point is to provide the silliest, funniest and most ridiculous answer possible. The players hand over their cards face down to the person who previously read out the question. She shuffles them and reads them out one by one. At the end, she decides who had the best answer. That person receives the question card. The person with the most question cards wins the game.

The game began. Since I had not played before, I tried to provide the most rational answers, at first. They were funny, but not even close to what others came up with. For example, the following question was asked: “Why could you not sleep last night?” I answered, “too many oreo cookies”. It was a rational answer, but not too funny. Another player answered: “altar boys”. First, silence fell on the room. Next, someone said, “Gross. You pervert!” Then, everyone laughed.

I learned quickly. After an hour, I tried to give the most unlikely answers. For instance, the question arose: “What comes out of your butt?” My answer was: “Sarah Palin”. As soon as Arron read my card out loud, he asked: “Who is the anti-republican in the room?” Being all Canadians, we all laughed. My answer was the best.

What did I learn from the experience? I learned that it is alright to be creative and even inappropriate to have a laugh, as long as everyone in the group has a good sense of moral backbone. And, our group did. We all commented on answers that were grossly inappropriate, but had a good laugh about them anyway. At the end of the day, we just managed to have great fun and did not even care about who won the game. In fact, I do not even remember it.

What was my favourite question-answer scenario? The question was: “It is the end of the world. How do you want to go out?” The answer was: “Being a motherf@#$%& sorcerer”. Yeah! If the world ends, a woman definitely has to go out in style!

Next month, I will try a remote viewing exercise. Remote viewing is a psychic technique where one focuses and tries to figure out the physically remote location and activity of a certain person. I will see if I am any good at being psychic!

M. J. Mandoki

