On a number of occasions, friends and strangers approached me about my book, asking the same two questions. The first question is always formulated the following way: “We know that you wrote a novel about being cursed, but what is the storyline? What is it about?” The second question always sounds like this: “Do you believe in curses?”

To answer the first popular question, I am going to offer a summary of The Curse, here. A rough underworld 1%-er biker, Spyder, from a small biker club meets an attractive woman at his favourite pub after a night of dispute with his friend over the assimilation of their smaller club into a bigger biker club. The attractive lady invites him to a fortune-teller. Reluctantly, he agrees to accompany her. At the end of the lady’s reading, the fortune-teller turns to Spyder and offers him a grim prediction on his future fate. According to this prediction, Spyder’s enemy put a curse on him and he is about to die. The fortune-teller suggests that he move to the East Coast and work on removing the curse. Spyder laughs off the idea. But, soon, the prediction starts coming true and the normally tough biker starts wondering if it is possible to be cursed. The question becomes: Is there a curse?  This storyline unfolds from two different characters’ points of view. In Part 1, Spyder tells the story of his curse; after which, in Part 2, Skinny Tyler retells the tale, revealing the mystery behind the curse.

Once I summarize the story, the second question posed is always whether I believe in curses. First, I have to emphasize that what I believe does not matter. The story is an objective examination of the curse phenomenon. It offers one possible explanation as to what can happen, if a person believes in the force of a curse. Having said this, I can say that I do not believe in curses for two reasons. The first reason is a moral argument. Putting curse on a person is an attempt to harm him or her. Whether someone believes in the reality of this type of spiritual power is irrelevant. The important point is the intent to harm in this argument. Basically, it is morally wrong to intentionally try to harm another person. The second reason is a spiritual argument. If someone believes in the spiritual force of a curse, it is important to point out to him or her that, according to most spiritual traditions, putting a curse on an individual does not work. The power goes out, but never reaches its intended target. Instead, the power bounces back to harm the person who releases it, backfiring on the person. (Ouch, that’s going to hurt!) Therefore, curses do not work. Overall, I do not believe in putting a curse on someone because it is immoral and because it is an ineffective tool that backfires on oneself. I am convinced that it is best to leave this presupposed fictional version of the curse in the hands of fairytale writers. Fictional children’s stories can nicely incorporate this intriguing, but untrue element.

I hope that I answered the two most common and interesting questions about my book. If more questions arise after having read my book, feel free to contact me on my Facebook or Linked in page. I will be happy to answer all questions.

M. J. Mandoki

SONY DSC

